Home Menu

Site Navigation

View Single Post
Old 07-31-2019, 11:01 PM

Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future

Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future Bluesky 07 has a brilliant future
Okay, the rear wheel wells. I’m no expert but the tires seem to me to be one of the major sources of noise. I’m also a big believer in starting noise suppression as close to the source as possible. So I hoped doing the wheel wells would net some significant results, and it did.

First, a sidebar. I never understood how to get those star-shaped net anchors out. People said to just grab them and pull, but my mistake was in wrapping my fingers around to the back b/c it looks like the star is one piece, but it isn’t. You have to grab the edge only and when that part pops out, it releases the anchor.

I used the same approach as on the doors, full coverage with one layer of butyl and one of foam. I also used two larger pieces of butyl under the carpet in the cargo section for rattle suppression. I didn’t use foam there b/c I was out and there are 5 layers there already: the carpet, the cargo shelf, a 4R branded carpet mat, a heavy duty cargo mat, and a rubber mat.

Here’s one of the finished wheel wells.

I also did a foam layer inside the trim pieces, which like the kick panel have the thick “we know noise comes through here” factory felt.