Home Menu

Site Navigation

View Single Post
Old 12-01-2019, 03:18 PM

Off-Camber is on a distinguished road

Off-Camber is on a distinguished road
Weather Pack license light/back-up camera plug.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4R4Trout View Post
Do you have a link to where you bought the weatherpack plug? Thanks

***Disclaimer***: I am not an electrician. I simply knew about these plugs from prior use and decided it would be a great way to make a QD for everything at once. I'm sure there is an electrician on here that can chime in if I'm wrong.....or right.

Weather Pack plugs can have varying wire gauges per plug as the terminal connectors are the same size. They simply have a different crimping area based on the gauge wire you use.

First, any plug you make from weather pack will consist of 5 separate parts.
1. Weather Pack Shroud (usually houses the male terminals but can be interchanged with female according to what I have read)
2. Weather Pack Tower (usually houses the female terminals but can be interchanged with male terminals)
3. Male terminal based on gauge of wiring.
4. Female terminal based on the gauge of wiring.
5. 1 seal per male and 1 seal per female terminal based on the gauge of wiring.

6. You will need a special crimping tool to crimp the terminals as it won't work with your standard crimper that I'm aware of, however, there are nock offs on Amazon that are much cheaper and work perfect for those DIYers like myself.

For this project you will need a total of 6 male terminals, 6 female terminals, 1 shroud plug, 1 tower plug, and 12 seals based on wiring.

The best I can tell the wiring that comes with the Victory bumper is gauge 16(it stripped perfectly with my 16ga wire stripper). The toyota camera plug wiring appears to be 22 or 24 gauge, and the led light is 26 gauge (if you double over the stripped portion of wire it crimps perfectly to the 24 gauge terminal)