View Single Post
Old 10-22-2020, 01:14 AM

MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold

MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold MAST4R is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by patkelly4370 View Post
I missed a great opportunity this last Sunday. The problem is that I work weekends.
A local (AZ) club posts runs nearly every week.
Last Sunday they had a short (5 hour) jaunt on local trails that they rated 2 to 3.5, with bypasses for the worst sections.
Being a noob myself, this would have been perfect.
Others with experience evaluating my abilities on easier sections, then they could encourage or advise not to try the more advanced parts.
If work hadn't changed my usual route, I might have made this.
So I still tentatively venture out alone on weekdays.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
You should buy the latest edition of Charlie Wells' Arizona 4x4 guide. It just came out. They re-drove the trails about 18 months ago.

I started by using his first edition book and a Subaru Tribeca. Yes. Probably the only one ever LOL. Never had a failure and never got stuck. But even the easy trails were often tough for a newbie in a Tribeca. Forget about a moderate in that vehicle. Then I had an Outback and used Wells for Utah and CO. I still use Wells a lot though I am running out of options for reasonable day trips from Phoenix. Be very wary of trails for which he says "brush marks likely" or anything like that because he truly means it.