Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/)
-   5th gen T4Rs (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/5th-gen-t4rs/)
-   -   Upper Control Arms ? (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/5th-gen-t4rs/289748-upper-control-arms.html)

Hungster44 08-29-2020 11:25 AM

Upper Control Arms ?

Hello,

I bought the FJ TRD Suspension package a while ago as it was being discontinued and also a set of cornfed lift spacers. 2 inch front and 1.5 inch rear. My question is do I need upper control arms? I am new to lifting but see that a lot of people have them with a lift.

What would you recommend? Sorry for the newb question, but thank you for your input!

CollinJ 08-29-2020 11:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hungster44 (Post 3538133)
Hello,

I bought the FJ TRD Suspension package a while ago as it was being discontinued and also a set of cornfed lift spacers. 2 inch front and 1.5 inch rear. My question is do I need upper control arms? I am new to lifting but see that a lot of people have them with a lift.

What would you recommend? Sorry for the newb question, but thank you for your input!

You likely won’t need them based on 2” of lift. Typically you’ll hear folks running UCAs on 3”+ lifts to get the alignment in spec. In short, most will tell you that you will not need them.

There are plenty of folks who run 3” lifts without new UCAs as well.

I run 3” extended travel coilovers Upfront and do run aftermarket UCAs as I enjoy wheeling my rig and just wanted a better overall ride on and off the road.

Hungster44 08-29-2020 11:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CollinJ (Post 3538147)
You likely won’t need them based on 2” of lift. Typically you’ll hear folks running UCAs on 3”+ lifts to get the alignment in spec. In short, most will tell you that you will not need them.

There are plenty of folks who run 3” lifts without new UCAs as well.