Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/)
-   4th Gen T4Rs (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/4th-gen-t4rs/)
-   -   Why is V8 Full Time AWD? (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/4th-gen-t4rs/126257-why-v8-full-time-awd.html)

DaveK22 10-13-2012 09:22 AM

Why is V8 Full Time AWD?

I have been shopping for a 4th Gen for a few months now. Not in a hurry so taking my time till I find the right one.

I have ruled out the V8 mainly because I don't like the idea of full time AWD. Why did Toyota do that? Wouldn't gas mileage be much better if you could turn it off...like the the V6?

Any V8 owners agree that they would like the option to go RWD? Also, I have read a few posts saying the mpg isn't that much different...maybe so but just hard to fathom how that can be.

NJshadow93 10-13-2012 10:10 AM

I prefer full time 4WD. I would chew through tires if I could put my V8 in 2WD with all the torque. But I think Toyota did it for towing purposes. As for gas mileage, the decrease in gas mileage is mainly from the weight of the 4WD system. V6 owners don't report much of a difference when driving in 4WD vs 2WD.

EDIT: Fixed so it would make sense. Attempted using the browser on my phone to type the original one lol

Synister 10-13-2012 10:36 AM

NJshadow is right, there is not much difference in fuel consumption between 2wd and awd, maybe .3-.5 worse in awd. With this type of system, almost all of the driveline drag is constant whether engaged or not. I almost always have mine in 2wd because I notice a slight increase in steering torque feedback (like a front drive car) when turning and in awd mode. While I do like having the ability to choose 2wd, the V8 is such a great engine and the 4wd system on these vehicles is so seamless I would think 2x about eliminating the V8 option simply because of not having 2wd.

Nathana92 10-13-2012 10:47 AM