Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/)
-   3rd gen T4Rs (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/3rd-gen-t4rs/)
-   -   Cheap used snow tires and rims or chains, which would you buy first? (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/3rd-gen-t4rs/132142-cheap-used-snow-tires-rims-chains-would-you-buy-first.html)

dbsoundman 01-02-2013 05:31 PM

Cheap used snow tires and rims or chains, which would you buy first?

OK guys, I've got a bit of a dilemma here. I want to do some winter exploratory driving this year in the mountains of CO, but primarily on-road; I'm still a newbie to this state, much less my 4Runner. Before I do that, I want to make sure I have some sort of snow-specific traction device. I have two options, but I can only pick one right now due to my budget:

Option 1: I found a person with a nice set of Bridgestone Blizzaks on rims, which were originally used with my 4Runner before it was sold to a dealer (long story there). The owner says the tires have at least 2 more years of use left on them. They want something like $100 for the set.
Option 2: Buy a nice new set of 4 snow cables or chains (that's a whole other argument there). This would most likely cost at least $150.

I'm tempted to say that out here the snow tires are the better deal for sure, especially considering the price. The snow here is obviously more dry and the chain laws allow those with 4 wheel drive and snow tires to be exempted from having to chain up, unless the situation is really bad (in which case I don't plan on being there).

I should also add that I'm waiting on my Christmas order from Amazon to come in right now, which consists of a 48" hi lift, two recovery straps, 4 D shackles, and a hi lift tire strap, so I can most likely get out of a tough spot if I happen to get into one.

Given these circumstances, what would you choose?

So Many Roads 01-02-2013 06:15 PM

Quote: