Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/)
-   4th Gen T4Rs (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/4th-gen-t4rs/)
-   -   Adam's '06 SR5 V6 Thread (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/4th-gen-t4rs/267055-adams-06-sr5-v6-thread.html)

adamlakesuperior 01-06-2019 12:58 PM

Adam's '06 SR5 V6 Thread

Hi Everybody,

After doing some sticky research, I've decided to start one single thread to address a bunch of questions I have regarding my specific vehicle, and also keep track of it over time.

I'm new to 4Runners and the forum. Recently bought an 06 SR5 V6, 150K miles. Going to use it as a daily driver to travel around a lot for work---I'm a Union Millwright---and simultaneously to camp in while exploring wilderness areas around the country. I used to accomplish this by tent camping off the back of a DualSport motorcycle, but now I'm looking to upgrade comfort, security, and payload, as I travel for work.

My problem is that, even though I'm a mechanically minded person (Millwright work deals with mechanics, rigging, welding, fab... you name it), I don't know much at all about cars!!

My mechanical knowledge and hobbies have always focused on other things. So I've decided to come to the place where the knowledge base and hobbies center around my specific project vehicle. Hopefully it'll help me avoid stupid mistakes and countless, frustrating hours of research.

Some things I would appreciate experienced opinions about:
1) I need some new tires.

The generic ones on the vehicle are made from a poor compound for Winter driving in WI. I'm looking at going with Goodyear Duratracs in either 265/65/r17 or 265/70r17 as a year-round compromise for my purposes.

After doing some reading, it seems that the choice here would come down to suspension type? The 70s might rub on stock vehicle, correct? Any other, better tire ideas?
2) I'm not sure what suspension setup would be optimal for my specific purposes.