Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/)
-   5th gen T4Rs (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/5th-gen-t4rs/)
-   -   Help with camping power setup (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/5th-gen-t4rs/278013-help-camping-power-setup.html)

Shabang 09-26-2019 10:53 PM

Help with camping power setup

Sorry for the broad question, but I'm new to the electrical side of the 4Runner. I'm going camping this thanksgiving, RTT and all that jazz. But I need a simple way to just charge phones and maybe a little LED strip in the tent.

What would you guys recommend doing to deal with this power need, dual battery setup while I'm at it? I am really a noobie as far as power goes in the 4Runner so any help is greatly helpful.

Thank you!

mrblah 09-26-2019 11:03 PM

You can also run a battery box like goal zero or arkpak

thinkviv 09-26-2019 11:14 PM

For such simple needs I would consider a lithium power bank, you could charge it through the existing power ports and something like the goal zero yeti 400 would have enough power for your needs and more.

IMO a dual battery setup would be going overboard for charging cell phones and a running a small led light in a RTT. In fact, you could probably get away with those a small handheld powerpack like a 20,000mAh and an led light that you can recharge with USB.

RAD4Runner 09-26-2019 11:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thinkviv (Post 3362603)
In fact, you could probably get away with those a small handheld powerpack like a 20,000mAh and an led light that you can recharge with USB.

Start with this^^^

zmannerz 09-27-2019 12:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shabang (Post 3362594)
Sorry for the broad question, but I'm new to the electrical side of the 4Runner. I'm going camping this thanksgiving, RTT and all that jazz. But I need a simple way to just charge phones and maybe a little LED strip in the tent.