Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/)
-   4th Gen T4Rs (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/4th-gen-t4rs/)
-   -   200k Maintenance Cost - Fix up or sell? (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/4th-gen-t4rs/281578-200k-maintenance-cost-fix-up-sell.html)

JohnnyxRex 01-09-2020 03:29 AM

200k Maintenance Cost - Fix up or sell?

Hi all,

I'm a new college graduate, 21 years old, out on my own - so paying for 100% of stuff - for the first time. My 2005 SR5 (V6, 2x4 w/ LSD, Leather) has served me well for the past 5-6 years, and is currently sitting at 185k.

I am currently trying to decide whether I should put any money into this thing or sell it now and get something cheap like a Corolla. I expect to either move to the opposite side of the country (East to West coast) or be deployed out of country with my work within the next two-ish years, so I don't want to get a newer 4Runner until after I get back. BUT I could easily rack up 30k (or maybe even 50k) miles in that time, so I know I probably can't just let it roll.

Can you guys help me figure out a realistic operating cost? Since I bought it at 125k miles, I've only done the following:
  • Synthetic Oil changes every 5k
  • Air filter cleaning
  • New brakes 20k miles ago
  • New Cats (both replaced) about 20k miles ago
  • New starter about 40k miles ago - forded about 3 ft of water in a flash flood and this was the only notable part that failed that week

The spark plugs were last replaced at purchase (so 125k)

My tires (Nitto Terra Grapplers) have almost 45k miles on them but look like this:
https://i.ibb.co/ZfPLFFF/IMG-1054.jpg