Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/)
-   5th gen T4Rs (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/5th-gen-t4rs/)
-   -   Anytime front camera issues 2021(fixed) (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/5th-gen-t4rs/296371-anytime-front-camera-issues-2021-fixed.html)

Daftjungle03 04-04-2021 02:49 PM

Anytime front camera issues 2021(fixed)
 
(FIXED, see last post)
Since I think it's a 5th gen issue (maybe) I opted to place this thread here instead of accessories. Mods please move if needed.

So I purchased an upgraded cam kit (2020+ model) from anytime backup camera (for my 2021). I have installed this three times so far and can't get it to work (front camera). I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction before I take it out a third time.

Front camera black lead grounded, red taped. RCA (with red wire) routed to relay.

RCA's are all plugged in correctly.

All wires connected color to color and soldered / heat shrunk "nasa" style, except for red wire coming from front RCA, that was is connected to green relay and green switch wire.

Black switch wire / relay wire to common ground on side of radio.

Switch lights up and dims, rear camera works as normal in revers and rear switch LED lights up. When switch is activated for front or rear I get nothing?? I'm starting to wonder if it's something with the kit or relay. I have gone over this thing three times and can't figure out what I'm missing.

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/...4f6c02d1_b.jpgIMG_0643 by MStarmer, on Flickr

JerseyDevil 04-04-2021 06:34 PM

Call Brian at Anytime Backup Camera if thatís who you bought the kit through. I called him last week when I was installing mine in my 2020 and he pinpointed the concern right away. I had used the wrong connection on the back of the head unit. There are two connectors that are exactly the same back there.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Daftjungle03 04-04-2021 06:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JerseyDevil (Post 3623983)
Call Brian at Anytime Backup Camera if thatís who you bought the kit through. I called him last week when I was installing mine in my 2020 and he pinpointed the concern right away. I had used the wrong connection on the back of the head unit. There are two connectors that are exactly the same back there.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I sent an email today. Two connectors the same?? I made an assumption after watching the videos there was only one of each. Of course I put it all back together now. I'm going to have to look at the instructions again.

Were you having the same issue?

matoolie 04-04-2021 07:33 PM

Watching. My kit arrives Monday and my plan is to install it once my ‘21 arrives next weekend or so.

JerseyDevil 04-04-2021 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daftjungle03 (Post 3623986)
I sent an email today. Two connectors the same?? I made an assumption after watching the videos there was only one of each. Of course I put it all back together now. I'm going to have to look at the instructions again.

Were you having the same issue?


When I had the wrong connection, the front camera could be switched on when I put the car in reverse. In other words, I had to be in reverse to activate the camera system and then I could switch between front and back. The correct connector should be the one all the way on the passenger side edge of the head unit.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Daftjungle03 04-04-2021 09:41 PM

Ok, so that was the issue, I apparently used the wrong connection on the back of the radio. There are two that fit the same connector, I totally missed the location being on the other side of the radio. Once I printed the picture for the 2020+ and took it down to the car it was apparent.

I spent almost 20yrs at Boeing looking at blueprints in manufacturing and QA and I missed a simple thing. Hopefully anyone else that has this issue finds this thread and it makes their life simpler.

Thanks all!

Zlots 04-05-2021 03:06 PM

I had a problem with the install on my '21.

First of all, connecting all wires the same color together is wrong. I watched a youtube video which show all red wires together. I did that an ended up with only the front camera in either switch position.

Follow the wiring diagram on the instruction sheet or from the Anytime website: Component Diagram
– Anytime Backup Camera


The red wire from the camera goes to the green wires between the switch and relay. If you have the premium camera the wire is near the RCA plug end, if you've got the regular camera the red wire comes from the camera.

WhiteMudhorn 04-06-2021 11:40 AM

For those who are about to install 2020+. I would suggest having about 3 feet of extra red wire, and possibly some of black wire if you want to ground somewhere else. Also Ring terminals if you want a clean look.

The extra red wire would be to extend the positive (green) cable from the switch to the relay and camera connections that would be located near the back of the radio. While you can mount the relay anywhere, it would probably be best behind the radio since there is room and its pretty hidden. The two harness already has extensions about 3 feet long to the switch. Without the red wire, you would have to finagle the relay further out if you want to mount the switch in one of the left hand spots.

The black wires are entirely optional to tie all of the grounds together. I used one on the side of radio, one near the switch and one in the bay for the grounding points.

daytonaviolet 04-06-2021 12:39 PM

When you toggle to front camera, does both front and rear camera indicator lights turn on like this ?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...3365e4be75.png

JerseyDevil 04-06-2021 03:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by daytonaviolet (Post 3624678)
When you toggle to front camera, does both front and rear camera indicator lights turn on like this ?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...3365e4be75.png


Yep. They do that on mine.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

daytonaviolet 04-06-2021 04:27 PM

Anytime front camera issues 2021(fixed)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JerseyDevil (Post 3624723)
Yep. They do that on mine.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


I donít have anytime camera brand, but I built one from similar parts. I believe anytime neglected to add reverse bias diodes on the front and rear toggle switches. When front is enabled, it drives the reverse trigger input of the HU but advertently didnít include diodes. Since the rear toggle switch is also connected to the HUís reverse trigger, both the front and rear toggle indicators light up.

I had same issue building my switch and harness. I resolved it by adding diodes on both front and rear toggle modes.

Just wondering, does your reverse lights turn on too when you toggle the switch ?

TRDHULK 04-06-2021 04:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daftjungle03 (Post 3624033)
Ok, so that was the issue, I apparently used the wrong connection on the back of the radio. There are two that fit the same connector, I totally missed the location being on the other side of the radio. Once I printed the picture for the 2020+ and took it down to the car it was apparent.

I spent almost 20yrs at Boeing looking at blueprints in manufacturing and QA and I missed a simple thing. Hopefully anyone else that has this issue finds this thread and it makes their life simpler.

Thanks all!


I installed mine last week and did the exact same thing.

I double checked and triple checked everything and couldnít figure it out. Called it a night, called the next day and he immediately told me what to do and it worked.

The camera and switch work perfect now. Iíve already had the camera submerged under water a few times too

daytonaviolet 04-06-2021 05:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRDHULK (Post 3624763)
I installed mine last week and did the exact same thing.

I double checked and triple checked everything and couldnít figure it out. Called it a night, called the next day and he immediately told me what to do and it worked.

The camera and switch work perfect now. Iíve already had the camera submerged under water a few times too


What was the fix ?

crawlingjunk 04-06-2021 05:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by daytonaviolet (Post 3624776)
What was the fix ?


Plugs inserted in the wrong spot


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JerseyDevil 04-06-2021 06:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by daytonaviolet (Post 3624750)
I donít have anytime camera brand, but I built one from similar parts. I believe anytime neglected to add reverse bias diodes on the front and rear toggle switches. When front is enabled, it drives the reverse trigger input of the HU but advertently didnít include diodes. Since the rear toggle switch is also connected to the HUís reverse trigger, both the front and rear toggle indicators light up.

I had same issue building my switch and harness. I resolved it by adding diodes on both front and rear toggle modes.

Just wondering, does your reverse lights turn on too when you toggle the switch ?


No, reverse lights donít come on when the camera is commanded by the switch, only with gear selector.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
***This site is an unofficial Toyota site, and is not officially endorsed, supported, authorized by or affiliated with Toyota. All company, product, or service names references in this web site are used for identification purposes only and may be trademarks of their respective owners. The Toyota name, marks, designs and logos, as well as Toyota model names, are registered trademarks of Toyota Motor Corporation***Ad Management plugin by RedTyger