Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/)
-   4th Gen T4Rs (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/4th-gen-t4rs/)
-   -   Noob considering a 4th Gen Toyota 4Runner with Mods (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/4th-gen-t4rs/298950-noob-considering-4th-gen-toyota-4runner-mods.html)

Jpoliceman 07-18-2021 10:25 AM

Noob considering a 4th Gen Toyota 4Runner with Mods

2 Attachment(s)
Very much a Noob here, in fact, I've never owned a 4Runner before.

That being said, I'm definitely not new to Toyota's, having owned 6 other 'Yota's including my current two (03 Sequoia and 06 Prius). I love Toyota's for the ease of maintenance, longevity, engineering, and overall quality!

My Prius is currently rocking 210k+ miles, and the Sequoia is at 189K.

With that being said, I know that every model has its quirks and things that may need replacing sooner than other (for example, the rear hatch lever on my Sequoia has been replaced at least twice).

So, what items should I be looking at when assessing whether to buy a 4th Gen 4Runner with some mods? I've attached pics to this post - I happen to know the owner (he's a friend), and I know he's treated it well.

It's a 2005, with around 205k miles. At 180k, he had timing belt and water pump done, and it also has newer brakes and tires.

Any problem areas I should look at when assessing?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/nPGr2cYafth2qgZu6

Syr4RinNC 07-18-2021 12:54 PM

Is it the v8? Doesn’t look like those mods would cause any problems. Mods will typically just cause more expensive repairs if they go bad unless you return to stock. Bigger lifts, tires can wear the suspension/ axle components quicker and put more stress on components

But it’s a nice looking 4runner

SteadFAST 4Runner 07-18-2021 01:13 PM