Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/)
-   Off-Roading (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/off-roading/)
-   -   Driving down steep fsr (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/off-roading/299311-driving-down-steep-fsr.html)

bjornbjorn 08-01-2021 07:25 PM

Driving down steep fsr

I am new to off roading, I have a 5th generation 4runner. What is the best way to travel down a steep fsr without having to burn out the brakes? Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

The road is relatively smooth, it was just graveled to smooth out the pot holes but it's steep

biratley 08-01-2021 08:25 PM

Driving down steep fsr

Use the manual shift option and drop
Her down a gear or 2

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Sp00ner 08-01-2021 08:25 PM

Keep the gears down on the transmission, if it's REALLY steep you can use 4LO, but I cant imagine that on a graded road.

Jakeepoo3 10-11-2021 02:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sp00ner (Post 3660708)
Keep the gears down on the transmission, if it's REALLY steep you can use 4LO, but I cant imagine that on a graded road.

Like spooner said. If it's extremely steep go 4 lo and use your DAC. You won't even need to touch your breaks. In fact that disengages DAC as soon as you touch the brake.

MAST4R 10-12-2021 02:48 AM

In the Rockies, there are dirt roads where second-third gear in low range is the ticket.

For trails, the gearing is not low enough so if the spot is not terrible (then crawl control is perfect), there is nothing you can do but first gear low + brakes.

Sp00ner 10-16-2021 11:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MAST4R (Post 3680238)
In the Rockies, there are dirt roads where second-third gear in low range is the ticket.

For trails, the gearing is not low enough so if the spot is not terrible (then crawl control is perfect), there is nothing you can do but first gear low + brakes.