Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Largest 4Runner Forum (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/)
-   5th gen T4Rs (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/5th-gen-t4rs/)
-   -   Advice requested re new 2011 4Runner Trail (https://www.toyota-4runner.org/5th-gen-t4rs/87954-advice-requested-re-new-2011-4runner-trail.html)

jhmoore 04-21-2011 12:28 PM

Advice requested re new 2011 4Runner Trail

Hi all,

I'm about to buy a 2011 4Runner Trail (with KDSS) and am looking for advice from folks more experienced than myself.

I am not an experienced off-road person. I am an increasingly enthusiastic nature photographer (passion, not job) who wants to safely get to and from places. At this point, the goal of the vehicle is not the enjoyment of the ride, it is getting home safely (though, who knows, it might become both!). Imagine this vehicle on back roads in Death Valley, Yosemite, Utah Canyonlands... I will keep my Accord for day-to-day driving and just drive the 4Runner on weekends / trips.

Questions:

1. Should I even lift the vehicle, at least initially? And if so, how -- specifically?

2. What tires should I put on it? Keeping in mind that I'd hate to not lift it, spend $1500+ on six tires of one size, then 6-12 months from now lift it and need to buy bigger tires!

3. If I want to keep the sixth tire, several gas and water cans, and other equipment on the top, what roof rack do you recommend?

4. Are the stock skid plates for a 2011 Trail Edition sufficient?

5. What other modifications do you suggest that I start with, if any--given my lack of experience and stated goals for the vehicle?

Thank you very much!

John
San Diego, CA

1engineer 04-21-2011 01:30 PM

Back roads are one thing, no roads are something else entirely.
Back Roads - No problems stock. I take my SR5 there in 2WD.
No Roads - Will you be going there? If so, I will defer to Harper, Dlak, Mike, Jesse and others who will steer you safely in the correct direction for mods.