It's not ideal, but if you come across a link to PhotoBucket that isn't working, you can right click on it and then click Open Image In New Tab or similar. Not the open link, but open image. It works in Chrome anyway.
I spent a few minutes seeing who was using what and unfortunately [MENTION=67615]Dirtco[/MENTION] will soon be going dark, along with [MENTION=46329]blcktpgsr[/MENTION] and many other great builds (several of whom have already posted in this thread). This is truly a gut punch to the shared knowledge base represented by internet forums.
Not tested (I'm on my phone), but I see a Google Chrome extension for working around this has already popped up.
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/photobucket-embed-fix/naolkcpnnlofnnghnmfegnfnflicjjgj
Not tested (I'm on my phone), but I see a Google Chrome extension for working around this has already popped up.
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/photobucket-embed-fix/naolkcpnnlofnnghnmfegnfnflicjjgj
It's not a long term for for a service that might go away for lack of money (looking at you, PB!), and it doesn't help me while I'm using Firefox, but it might help get through a build thread quickly.
Today I manually rehosted [MENTION=44220]BigFishAllDay[/MENTION]'s trans cooler install photos to imgur, and it was a pain. Hopefully a way to automate and spread around the photo hosting will pop up soon too.
Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
I'm just guessing but I believe with 99% confidence that Photobucket ran out of cash and was sold.
how the f*ck could Photobucket run out of cash. My computer almost freezes up going to that site with all the ads they have going on
Wow, this sucks! I've been paying for the "upgraded" Photobucket account for a couple years now, but it's just the base plan. There is no way in hell I'm going to pay $400 to keep my photos, or go through 138 pages of pictures to relink them. I hate to say it but once they cut me off my build thread is done.![]()
It's strange though that their policy officially states the only way to keep things up is to pay the $40/month and YET you are on one of the lower plans and your pics remained up.
So it seems like only those who were on completely free plans are affected for now.
I'd like to know what happens if BFAD or someone else pays for the cheap $5/month plan. Will the pics that were already uploaded be unlocked?